Call in the Fog


Droning tones of call to prayer drift ghostly in unpopulated fog.  Eerie specters to the ears roam from home to home.  They’re peering in windows, creeping through doors, searching for believers.  The cold predawn defies the rule holding people in their beds, but it relinquishes them reluctantly.  Duties must be fulfilled.

A small stone in River of Stones entry.

Copyright Jean Mishra 2012

As a footnote:  We live in a predominantly Hindu neighborhood, but the Muslim call to prayer can be heard in the distance.  In the stillness of the early morning, before the sun comes up, it has a very eerie quality.

12 thoughts on “Call in the Fog

    • Having lived in Egypt for a year, I’m very familiar with it and it’s meaning. The first azan of the morning, the way it comes creeping through the stillness is just eerie to me. Always has been.

  1. is that photo yours?
    it is magic

    as are your words

    my experience of hearing the call to prayer was in Dubai
    no fog there
    unless pollution counts 😉

    • Winters in northern India come with a lot of fog as I’m learning. Although I have never been to Dubai, I have been to Sinai and not a drop of moisture survives long there either. Thank you for reading and I’m glad you enjoyed. Unfortunately, I did not snap this picture myself.

  2. Many years ago I lived and worked for a summer in Israel, I remember the calls to prayer, I knew I was fully acclimated to the culture when I woke one morning (I interject that I had fallen asleep with my head on the window sill) to ask why there had been no prayers that morning, I was informed by my friends that the prayers had been the same as every other morning, I apparently just slept through them.

    • That’s not an easy accomplishment, especially if you’re close to the loudspeaker. Here in India, I’m lucky that it’s not close, but the Hindu temple which also plays devotional music twice a day is right next to our gate and it is horribly loud. I know when I’m really tired because I can manage to sleep to through it. It does take time. I’m impressed you achieved it! Thanks for sharing and for reading, Katrina!

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

