Toad Slide


The dwarves were under the wood pile again.  The Valentine’s Day disaster had passed but the tension had not.  The clammy moldiness was a comfort.

Herp poked a toad that stared at him blithely.

Derp sighed.  “I don’t think Moribund will ever forgive us, but if you look on the flip side…”

“A what slide?” Herp’s bad eye meandered toward Derp.

“Flip side.  Flip.  FLIP!”

Something warty wetly struck Derp in the side of the head.  It clung a moment before sliding down.

“What?  You said ‘flip!’”

“No, I said toad slide,” he spat shoving the toad down Herp’s pants.

The above is my entry for the 100-Word-Challenge. The prompt this week was “…the flip side…”

Previous 100-word installments in the Moribund saga:

 

22 thoughts on “Toad Slide

  1. Pingback: Glenda Gloop’s Failed Surprise | MoonLightened Way

  2. Pingback: Love Dies an Ugly Death Under the Sink | MoonLightened Way

  3. Pingback: Moribund’s Demise | MoonLightened Way

    • Great! I’m glad you’re enjoying. I’m beginning to want to give these characters some more room than the 100-word challenge, but I’m going to bide my time and see what happens. Thanks for reading!

    • That eye has a mind of it’s own and kinda goes off on it’s own little trip when his brain does the same (which is often). I just wish I had more than 100 words sometimes to really paint these guys the way I see them. I’m glad you’re enjoying!

  4. Pingback: Hope in a Sklortch | MoonLightened Way

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

