Clowns and Shadows…and Herp


Moribund The Shadow Thing made his way, slithering from shadow to shadow among the clowns in the little room.  Their bawdiness was quieted by moonlight to blues and blacks.  This was his realm.  He grinned.

Closer to the sleeping child he crept.  The foolish clowns held their breath, waiting for the scream to shatter the night.  He leaned closer…

Light exploded into the room.  Gaudy colors shrieked through his brain and then all went dark.  Blinded.

“Herp, for Pete’s sake!” he hissed at the clueless dwarf.

“But I turned it off!”

The clowns laughed harder and Herp ran.

The above is my entry for the 100-Word-Challenge. The prompt this week was “…but I turned it off…”

To see other entries, and more installments of this saga, go here.

 

13 thoughts on “Clowns and Shadows…and Herp

    • Interesting you mention the doll… When I was a kid I was terrified of clowns and those porcelain-headed dolls, both for different reasons. I’m glad you enjoyed and thank you for the your feedback.

  1. My 17 year old grandson still hates the clown doll that sits on its own little chair in the guest room. It really freaks him out still. I also know of other children who are frightened by clowns.
    However, I like this 100 word challenge.

    • I look back and remember a trip to the circus with my parents. It was a wonderful magical experience… until the clowns came up in the audience. What was wonder turned into icy terror for me. I’ll never forget it. I remember having that reaction to adults in any type of costume. There’s got to be something in the psychology. Perhaps children sense an adult’s unintended “dishonesty” by hiding who they really are. Adults being authority figures to a small child, this would probably on some primal level signal “danger”. Hard to say. I’m glad you read it, Judith. Thank you.

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

