July Music Passion: Birds – “Blackbird”


This is my entry for July’s Music Passion.  Every month, bloggers are posting one of their favorite songs based on each month’s theme.  Thanks to Sarah of Sarahpotterwrites, last month’s most popularly “liked” entry, the theme this month is “birds”.

My choice is “Blackbird” by the Beatles.  I can never tire of the beautifully simple message of this song.

The lyrics:

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise.

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these sunken eyes and learn to see
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to be free.

Blackbird fly Blackbird fly
Into the light of the dark black night.

Blackbird fly Blackbird fly
Into the light of the dark black night.

Blackbird singing in the dead of night
Take these broken wings and learn to fly
All your life
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
You were only waiting for this moment to arise
You were only waiting for this moment to arise.

About the song:

The song “Blackbird” was written by Paul McCartney (although credited to Lenon and McCartney) and appeared on the Beatle’s White AlbumIt was recorded on June 11, 1968 at EMI studios and features a blackbird singing through part of the song.  George Martin was the producer.

Says McCartney about the meaning behind the lyrics:

“I had been doing poetry readings. I had been doing some in the last year or so because I’ve got a poetry book out called Blackbird Singing, and when I would read “Blackbird”, I would always try and think of some explanation to tell the people, ’cause there’s not a lot you can do except just read the poem, you know, you read 10 poems that takes about 10 minutes, almost. It’s like, you’ve got to, just, do a bit more than that. So, I was doing explanations, and I actually just remembered why I’d written “Blackbird”, you know, that I’d been, I was in Scotland playing on my guitar, and I remembered this whole idea of “you were only waiting for this moment to arise” was about, you know, the black people’s struggle in the southern states, and I was using the symbolism of a blackbird. It’s not really about a blackbird whose wings are broken, you know, it’s a bit more symbolic.”— Paul McCartney, Interview with KCRW’s Chris Douridas, May 25, 2002 episode of New Ground (17:50 – 19:00)

I think the meaning behind the lyrics can go even more personal than this.  How many of us are waiting for our own “moment to arise”?

If you’d like to participate, jump on over to Allaboutlemon for more information and jump on in!  The blogger posting the video which receives the most “likes” for the month gets to choose the topic for next month.

5 thoughts on “July Music Passion: Birds – “Blackbird”

  1. As beautiful as the explanation, as well as the song is. It has a very personal meaning for me because of my youngest daughter. She is a singer/songwriter and one of her first songs she learned to play was “Blackbird” and she would sing it all the time. When she graduated HS and was going out of state to college, I had a cake made for her with the lyrics and a blackbird on it. I wish I could attach a picture of it and share it with you. She was going to Coastal Carolina, SC which is next to Myrtle beach she loves the ocean, just like her Pops. So I told the lady at Walmart that around the edges, I wanted the icing to look like ocean waves. Sounded simple enough…… I went to pick up the cake which was beautiful, except at the very top board, they had written “OCEAN WAVES” in words. It was just so funny we left it on there and she loved it and we laugh so hard about it to this day. I wish you could see the actual cake. LOL. Anyway, the song touched me as I was letting her go off on her own and I always relate it to her and always will.

    Blessings,
    Simply Sammi

    • What a wonderful memory. I’m really happy you shared it. I love all those little synchronicities that bring back such happy thoughts. Thanks for your comment, Sammi. As always, I’m happy you’re here.

  2. Pingback: Tooth Of The Day – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

