Alan Watts: This Is IT: Become What You Are


Alan Watts put forward a worldview, drawing on Hinduism, Chinese philosophy, pantheism, and modern science, in which he maintains that the whole universe consists of a cosmic self playing hide-and-seek (Lila), hiding from itself (Maya) by becoming all the living and non-living things in the universe, forgetting what it really is; the upshot being that we are all IT in disguise. In this worldview, Watts asserts that our conception of ourselves as an “ego in a bag of skin” is a myth; the entities we call the separate “things” are merely processes of the whole. You’re IT.

4 thoughts on “Alan Watts: This Is IT: Become What You Are

  1. Watts ask “who am I” and then launches first person into the inquiry. He could be paraphrased as saying in the first 90 seconds “I am fascinated with who I may or might be, but I cannot examine myself with any certainty, I have tried to do it for many years, it is (I am) a mysterious and elusive enigma.” He goes on talking of what HE has done as if it were something HE could do with no self-knowledge. “I” (Watts) speaks of “I” (Watts) as if He were a foreigner to “I” (Watts himself).

    I (David) think he would do were to admit to the reference of other men for learning and One Man above all others.

    I thank God for He is “I AM” and He is Jesus. He has revealed Himself to His prophets and even by them to all His children, even I who site these words. He is able to examine me and knows exactly who and what I am. And He ca assist me in my search for what He did make me, for what He has allowed to become of me, and for what He would make of me if I would follow His Word.

    The book God has written (or has had written) is replete with transcendent knowledge of the origin and nature, and future of all the “Is” there ever has been are or will be! Yet when we ignore that Book’s message to us “Is” we must remain alienated from ourselves and not only but also from God and each other.

    As it has been said “we are what we eat” I would suggest we are what we do or have done moreso. If you think this is sensible you will find you and I are sinners, for we have sinned, or if you prefer, wrongdoers for we have done wrong. The resultant alienation from all knowing let alone self knowing may only be reestablished by One who knows all, and that is the God of Abraham and Moses, indeed it is JESUS!

    • Hi David. First, let me say thank you for stopping by my blog. I’m happy you’ve left your perspective here for others to consider and I respect your point of view. The beauty of being is that each facet is unique and that uniqueness expands into our perceivings as well. I actually see correlation between your words and what Watts is saying. Christ Consciousness is understood differently by different minds but essentially ends up being the same. Thank you for comments!

      • At first I was a little uncomfortable with this one, I know what he was trying to say, but felt, he never really made the “I” or “being” connection clear. I am very much of Christ Consciousness, however, for me being Christ Conscious is to not pass judgment on others, spread the word of peace and love throughout humanity. No matter what journey you take or path you are on, in the end, I think we will all be in “Awe” what is in store for us, long after our souls leave this world.

        Blessings,
        Simply Sammi

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

