My First Book!


I can finally let the cat out of the bag.  The reason I took a brief break from blogging was to complete my first book!  I’m happy to report it’s finished and off to the publisher.  Whew.

This is a simple little book and exactly as I had envisioned it.  Most of the content I’ve posted here on my blog, however much more editing has been done and improvements and additions have been made.  What a labor of love and miraculous experience it’s been!  There are short stories, poetry, and haiku as well as mindful shorts and meditational thoughts.  It’ll be available in both paperback and Kindle versions and is due to be released within the next 10 days.

I’m so excited!  And I’m happy to be able to share this experience with you.  This has been a lifelong dream finally materialized, but not the last!  I’ve got a novel in the works and plans are laid for another collection in 6 months.

When the release is official, be sure I’ll share it here with you.  I hope you join me in the celebration!  Thanks to each and every one of.  You, as readers and commentors, were the wind beneath my wings that gave me that final dose of courage to go for it.  We touch each other’s lives, sometimes without even realizing it.

Namaste,

Jean Mishra

27 thoughts on “My First Book!

    • The formatting is tedious and it’s different for everything so many versions to deal with. I’ve self published the paperback through Amazon which has been a fun and amazing experience. Working on the Kindle version and the e-book version for Smashwords has been another ordeal entirely. However, if you follow the guidelines given, can muster up a ton of patience, it’s not so bad. Thank you for your kind words and good wishes. It’s very appreciated.

  1. Thanks so much to everyone for the good wishes. I wish I could gather everyone up and celebrate! Then y’all could help me proof this thing! Just edited my first proof and of course found mistakes but I guess that’s what proofs are for. It’s amazing how hard it is to see them when you’re the one who wrote it. Thanks again, everyone!

      • Mine will take few more weeks. Final editing is going on. It’s taking some time, as I am trying to cover few issues of our Indian society from a common man’s perspective. I hope I will be done by mid of September.

      • I’ve been lost in editing too. I’m on my 3rd proof and I swear that document sprouts mistakes when I’m not looking. Then while I’m reading I still keep tweaking the text. This is the most painful part of writing for me. I never know when enough is enough… lol. I’ll be interested to check out yours. I’m interested in the topic. I’ve kind of got an interest in India’s water situation and rainwater conservation. Not sure what to do with it though.

      • As you know my grammar part is on weaker side, so I am trying my level best to make my first book error free. I am also trying to publish its paperback in India. So the pressure is on higher side. 🙂
        But I am really sorry while saying this, but I am not covering either of the topic you mentioned in my book; might be my hometown is near to a very famous forest; so these problems yet to spread their wing s there. But yes, I am trying to cover some of the interesting issues a common conservative Indian, who was born and brought up has to deal with. And there are some personal stuffs based on human emotions also. It’s a thirty five chapter and more than 200 page book.I am just giving it my all and hoping for the best. 🙂

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

