What World Do You Want to Live In?


Breath of Creation by Rassouli @ newdawncollections.com

 

This week a global Decision Day was held on October 24th.  Yesterday.  All that was asked was that people make a conscious decision and commit to it.  The decision was what world you want to live in.  This may seem idealistic, but considering we spin the web of our realities by our own thoughts and perceptions, this is probably the most important decision you could ever make.  Some of us are aware enough to do this every day of our lives.  Most of us are not.

I was not.  But when I heard about this idea of “the decision” it struck me hard.  Why had I not done it?  I thought that I had but really all I did was stick my toe in the water.  I was wishy washy.  I put qualifiers on it.  I would decide to decide, but if the decision was too hard or too uncomfortable I left myself an out.  Yeah.  As cowardly as it sounds now, that hasn’t worked out well.  And no, I’m not surprised.  All I decided was to live in a wishy washy world.

But currents in my inner world, my “kingdom,” have been sweeping me along anyway.  Even when I decided to decide, wishy washy or not, I had decided.  It just took a little longer to arrive.  So, when confronted with the choice do I want to live in a world built on the expectations and directions of others or a different one I decided I want to live in MY world; and by “MY world” I mean a world based on my conscious and aware choices.

Some very interesting synchronicities carried me to this point.  In all honesty, I had forgotten about Decision Day and wasn’t even aware of the date yesterday.  Not consciously.  I just motored through my routine but when I had my free time I remembered a movie, Thrive, that was recommended to me.  The synopsis intrigued me:

“THRIVE is an unconventional documentary that lifts the veil on what’s REALLY going on in our world by following the money upstream — uncovering the global consolidation of power in nearly every aspect of our lives. Weaving together breakthroughs in science, consciousness and activism, THRIVE offers real solutions, empowering us with unprecedented and bold strategies for reclaiming our lives and our future.”

Sounded like my kind of thing so I made myself some dinner and settled in to enjoy.  At this point I won’t say I endorse the film in its entirety.  If you’ve seen it, all I can say is I’ve had years experience working in two of the industries mentioned and I experienced exactly the things mentioned.  The rest I leave up to you.  Regardless, watching it will leave you changed.  It will make you think and most importantly it will make you question.  It will probably wake you up from a long comfortable slumber.  Honestly, it messed with me.  It messed with me in a big way.

I spent the rest of my evening in a kind of numb fog.  Then I fell very quiet.  It was a strange silence but I know now I was making my decision in the depth of that silence.  I don’t want to live in a world where I’m alive only to fulfil expectations of people I don’t know or will never meet.  I don’t want to live in a world only half alive never knowing who am I or what I want.  I don’t want to end my life with my only accomplishments being “I was a good worker drone” and “I fulfilled my obligations.”

I want to live in MY world.  I want to throw off the chains and climb out of the matrix.  I want to be awake and I want to make aware choices.  I want to be free of the agendas of others and free enough to question everything.  I want to build a world I want to wake to every day.  Yes, my decision is made.  I am awake.

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

