Diwali!


Tonight, November 13, is the Diwali Festival.

Diwali, also known as Deepavali, is the Hindu festival of light.  It is through the light that the beauty of this world is revealed and in celebration colored lights, little clay lamps filled with ghee, lanterns and candles are lit.  To Hindus, darkness represents ignorance and light the representation of knowledge.  On this night, the lighting of the lamps signifies the conquering of ignorance through knowledge.  Brilliant fireworks light up the sky well into the wee hours of the morning.  Families gather to share good food and cheer and to give gratitude for all that is good in their lives.

So, happy Diwali to you and yours from India.  May you always walk in the light, experience the beauty that it reveals, and leave the darkness behind you.

Namaste.

6 thoughts on “Diwali!

  1. Sounds so beautiful and fun. Don’t forget it’s the NEW MOON SOLAR ECLIPSE tonight as well. Should be a powerful night especially in India, spiritually. I will be with you in Spirit!! One day, maybe we’ll make it over that way and experience it for ourselves! Namaste’ my friend. ~Simply Sammi~

      • Silence is my favorite sound. You can always add just a small water fall or fountain, but nothing more. Stillness and silence, is where I can actually feel my inner light and sometimes, the faint sound of my heart beating. “Heart and Soul”. There’s no better combination. Namaste’ ~Simply Sammi~

  2. I love this Indian festival, Jean. A celebration of light, both the inner light and its reflection in outer lights.

    Sometimes, I meet Indians who have traded their Hindu faith for another, largely due to the influence of westernization. It is sad to think that they have missed out on the beauty and truth inherent in the Hindu faith, which I find on par and equal to other faiths under the umbrella of nondualistic mysticism.

    May the light of Lakshmi continue to illumine and bless our lives. Om shanti.

    Marc

    • This is my second Diwali in India and it is a very special night. The air is just alive. The opportunity to live here and to begin to immerse myself with a spiritual culture that closely mirrors my own personal views is quickly becoming one of the most amazing of my life. I feel I was meant to be here even though outwardly I’m so different. Socially I’m terribly awkward but spiritually I’m very much at home. Thanks so much for the reblog!

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

