No Zombies but Welcome to the New Age Folks!


zombehs

It’s 12-21-2012.  No Earth shattering meteors.  No zombie apocalypse.  (Okay, I’m seriously disappointed about the zombie thing.  I’ve been practicing my double-tap for months.)  But, strangely I woke up filled with joy.  This is a rare phenomenon for me.  It takes at least a cup of coffee and a romp through Facebook to stir any emotion like this in me.  So, in honor of this amazing occurrence, I’m putting away my Batman helmet, folding up my bath towel cape and rolling my special zombie double-tapping baseball bat back under the bed.  But I’m still scratching my head.  What exactly did the Mayans and other cultures mean by their end of the world scenario?

Much has been discussed and pondered to the point I think we’re all a little dizzy from it.  However, it seems the conclusion has come down to a common theme.  It’s the end of an era and the beginning of a new age.  We are on the doorstep of change.  I have no clue really if some mystical unseen event has catalyzed this.  Perhaps somewhere someone has reset humanity’s karmic debt load and we get to start over.  I don’t know.  But what I can see, regardless of how absurd it all seems, is a tremendous gift that’s been handed down across the centuries by ancient cultures all over the world to us.  Right here.  Right now.

The gift is the implantation of an idea.  A global idea.  One of hope.  One of change.  One of determination.  All this end-of-the-world hoopla has caused a vast amount of people to sit down and consider change.  Can you recall any other time in the history of humanity that one single idea has been on the minds of all of Earth’s population simultaneously?  How mind-blowing is that?  This new world is being born right between our ears!

You can scoff it or dance in the streets.  It doesn’t matter.  The seed has still been planted.  This seed, this beautiful idea, is going to grow.  There are too many of us weary of old ways.  Too many of us ready to change, to be different, to be better.  A subconscious decision has been made.  The power of an idea this pervasive can’t be denied.  Not when it sits in the minds of so many.  So this seed is going to grow.  It’s going to be fed, ever so slowly, by our love, compassion, hope and determination.  And as that flower begins to bloom, we’re going to be looking up at it with sense of awe and wonder because our collective loving green thumb brought it into being.

Welcome to the New Age, folks.  I’m so happy to be here!

Oh, but just in case the world does suddenly explode or my brain is eaten by zombies, my last act as a living human being will be to smile because I know I have lived my last moments in this beautiful idea.  Even that’s enough for me.

Now, let’s get crackin’!

single-lotus-flower

3 thoughts on “No Zombies but Welcome to the New Age Folks!

  1. Pingback: Which Way are You Looking? | MoonLightened Way

Would you like to share a comment or thought?

